M@DISON R@E...
I have Crazy friends
(2005-12-02, 9:04 a.m.)
I have a serious issue to deal with.

My friend Tony is out of control. He's super depressed. His reality is completely fucked. And it's getting worse every day.

Background:

Tony dated my friend Amy for 3 months at the end of 2004. She broke up with him January 3, 2005. I met Amy February of this year and met Tony in May.

Tony also happens to be my friend Linz's boss. And he lives down the street from me.

He is a good looking guy. Very charismatic. Was married before but his wife had a "girlfriend" (he accepted it) and when the wife and girlfriend broke up the wife didn't get out of bed for 3 months. Tony left her.

Tony never talks about his failed marriage but can't seem to get over Amy. All I ever hear about is how much he misses Amy's friendship.

Side note: Tony and I hooked up in July one afternoon and stopped before anything really happened. I think we both got wigged out. We never talk about it.

Tony smokes A LOT of pot. And he drinks a lot. I hang out at his place most days even when he's away. I enjoy his company when he's not freaking out about Amy.

The Amy problems happened this summer when she started dating a guy named Derek. It was short lived but intense. Tony was dating another girl by then. But the Derek think got in his head and he's been on a downward spiral ever since.

He says the craziest things. He drinks and gets depressed. He does the "poor me" thing constantly.

Everyone went away this Thanksgiving to see family, friends etc... Tony stayed here. And he complained the entire time. I would get text messages saying, "I haven't left the house in two days." or "I'm drunk." WTF?

Linz and Jess got the same sort of messages. How uncool is it to make your friends feel bad for having lives?

I use to be uneffected by it. He's a big boy. He can find something to do. But now I get irratated.

It came to a head last night. Us girls were going to get together for drinks and Linz invited GB (a friend of Derek's) and when Tony caught word that GB was going he turned mean and nasty.

Reminder: This man is 37 years old. I feel the need to say that since this all sounds so junior high.


******TDW is calling from France. What an awesome surprise. He was so upbeat considering everything that is going on. His family is more whacked than mine at the moment. The had to institutionalize his brother. Anyway... TDW is taking on a lot being so far away. It was sweet of him to call.And funny how the tables have turned. I told him I was less involved in us emotionally and now he is writing and calling etc... Interesting, how that works.******

Back to Tony.

It made everyone so upset that we have to chose sides that none of us were in the mood to go out at all.

Tony returned home from his week long business trip and tried to get in touch with all of us to apologize for his freak out. I blew him off.

He needs help. Really. There is no reason why he should get upset because a girl he dated for 3 months a year ago dated a guy 6 months later and that guy's friend happenes to be friends with us. I mean... COME ON!

Fuck.

You won't even see this drama on the 0.C. or Lagun@ B3ach, the real 0.C.

But this is 0.C. people.

Anyway...I'm going to go horseback riding tomorrow. And then church on Sunday. I have no interest in hitting the bars. I need to regroup. I feel out of control.

Ever feel that way?
And have you noticed that everyone around me is crazy? My mom, TDW's brother, my friend Tony. Am I the crazy one? Good question! Ha