M@DISON R@E...
Strike, Strike, Gutter
(2006-01-25, 8:26 p.m.)
Tuesday morning I left for NYC for my dreaded budget meetings. You know, where I have to prove I'm an asset to the company. I sit through meetings then we all go out to dinner, drink way too much, stay out real late, and come to the office next day crisp and fresh.

Last year these meetings did not go well. But I've taken a zen like approach. All is good. All is good.

The first leg of my flight I actually wrangled an exit row. The guy next to me chatted the entire flight. Nice Christain man. He and his wife just found out they are expecting their first child. He hasn't told too many people. But I'm a stranger so its no big deal. One of the most pleasant people I have met on an airplane.

On my lay over I chatted with some woman from Kenosha and some guy from D.C. at the Chilis. Very down to earth travelers.


The final leg no one was sitting next to me. I slept my way into NYC.

When I got here I checked into the "X" hotel. I hate this hotel. So "club" like. Load music. Cool ambiance. I just want a bed, people.


I was given a handicapped room. And at first I was going to ask to switch. But then I realized how BIG it was. And I'm in NYC. Big rooms are hard to come by.

I rushed over to where dinner was being held. Said all my hellos. Except to Oakdale. I ignored him all night.

I finally said hello around midnight. And inly because we have a new woman manager and she is PRETTY. And FLIRTATIOUS with Oakdale. Back off bitch.

Oakdale cornered me. I told him why he made me sad. He apologized. Again. and Again. Then his BOSS came over to me and told me how sorry Oakdale was. WTF?

I stayed out until 4 am with the new girl, Oakdale and one other guy. I finally couldn't take all the flirting and went to my room. Oakdale called two minutes later and was standing in the doorway two minutes after that.

We talked a bit. We fell asleep. I woke up a few hours later to Oakdale kissing me on the forehead and apologizing.

I had meetings all day today.

At 4 I noticed a call from my brother. Then a text telling me to call him it was important. When I called at 6 (the only time I could break free) there was no answer. I called a bunch more.

My brother only calls me in case of an EMERGENCY.

I finally reached my brother about 9 pm. My father had ANOTHER heart attack today. He's been in Montana. Felt bad. So he flew to my brother's in KC. My brother picked him up and took him to the hospital. He had the heart attack either in the car or the hospital. I'm not sure.

Crazy.

It never stops.

Someone is always hurting.

I returned to the dinner (50 of my coworkers) and tried to pretend nothing was up. But word traveled fast (I did tell my boss). I had lots of well wishes.

Tomorrow is my presentation. If they give me shit I may just tell them to go fuck themselves! Ha! Kidding. Sort of.

I had planned on meeting my cousin, visiting my best friend from childhood, and also visiting the family that was close with this weekend. I haven't seen any of these people in years and years.

But I may instead fly to KC. My brother will update me tomorrow.

Fuck.

Tomorrow will be the best performance in my life.

My father is sick, my mother is crazy, and I am the "future" of my company.

Ha!