M@DISON R@E...
D-Roz and Mussels...
(2006-01-31, 1:33 p.m.)
Oh so much to update.

Friday I rented a car and drove to my hometown outside of Philadelphia. I toured the town visiting my old high school, the house I grew up in, and the bar I used to drink in on my fake ID :-) So much had changed.

I then met up with my best guy friend D-Roz. He and I spent every weekend together my junior and senior year of high school. I was close with his family. I ate dinner there almost every night.

D-Roz and I lost touch. I moved to Illinois and went to college. D-Roz went to work at the Mill. Yup, the Pennsylvania blue collar story. D-roz got arrested for drugs and spent a few months in jail. But he works hard and is back on track.

Okay that's enough background.

So I met up with D-Roz and his dad at the local bar. I stepped back into the 80s. Mullets galore. Satin members only jackets. High top sneakers.

It was great to see them. But sad because D-Roz's mom had just died. The house is in shambles right now. The family is trying to keep it together.

D-Roz and I went for dinner. I love the hole in the wall Italian joints. We had mussles with marinara.

Check it out. This is D-Roz and the mussels.

They were so good.

We then came back to his parents house. I made him sleep with me. He switched rooms with his dad and it is on the 3rd floor. It scared me to be there by myself.

It was great to see him. It brought me back to simpler times. D-roz has never really grown up. It's still all about the next party. I can't tell if he's happy. But I hope he is.

I heart him and I always will. I'm stoked we stayed friends.

The next morning I went to meet my cousin for the first time since I was four. I'll write about that some other time.