M@DISON R@E...
Smoozing and Boozing
(2006-05-18, 9:35 a.m.)
I've been going to this wine bar once a month and doing wine tastings to customers. I don't have to. But the account is a good account and it's great practice for me.

Truth be told. I know dick about wine. Don't get me wrong. I know more than the average bear. But I'm in my job because I am great at motivating the people who actually KNOW about wine. And I'm a good sales person.

The wine knowledge thing is hard because I work for an importer. That means I have wines from 11 different countries. 40 plus brands. I'm not sure how many variatels. So to be an expert on everything... not likely.

So doing these tastings force me to study whatever wines I'm featuring.

Last night was my biggest turnout. Over fifty people hanging on my every word. I slammed two glasses of champagne before I started. I was drunk. And funny. They kept breaking out in applause at my corny jokes.

I was a rockstar.

After my performance... I mean presentation (that was 2 hours long btw!!) people were waiting to talk to me about other wines, or my opinion on this or that. A group of people told me I should be a stand up comedian.

That is what I wanted to be when I grew up. When I was a kid I would memorize Rodney D@ngerfield's act and perform it for family.

But when I started to study when I got older I got nervous and stopped. How would I support myself. Could I really do it?

Maybe I'm onto something here. The wine thing. If I became more comfortable in my wine education I could do more of these presentations and actually make more money.

I have another one of these tastings scheduled June 14th. And there are about 20 people signed up.

I'll see how that one goes.

Time to actually work today. Heading to L.A. with Linz to hit a bunch of accounts. Smoozing and Boozing.