M@DISON R@E...
Old Surfer Rats
(2006-06-26, 11:54 a.m.)
On Saturday I went up to Hermosa to see Sparky. He was hanging with all his high school buddies. We went to an opening party for a bike shop. It was CRAZY.

I know now why my dad did not want us to grow up in California. These guys were the surfer types that never really grew up. The stories were hillarious. As a matter of fact one of there stories was turned into a MOVIE. About a drug dealing surfer. No not the Johnny Depp one but another. Most of the guys were sucessful. Despite dropping out of school etc... But some were still in and out of jail. And still dealing. All night I was thinking... how did I get here? They were quite entertaining.

I was liquored up pretty good and what does a crazy girl do when she's drunk...

Go to a diner at 2 am and sit at the counter eating Grilled Cheese sandwhich and Apple Pie a la mode. Dah. Oh and striking up conversation with the other counter patrons about the G0lden Girls. No one could remember Betty's character's name.

I'm a wild one, for sure.

Yesterday I spent the day with my Lil. We went swimming. She isn't a very good swimmer and I spent every second worried that she would drown. I tried to teach her to swim better. But she wasn't interested. Swallowing mouthfuls of water was more desirable. I'll never be able to take her to the beach if she can barely make it in a pool.

Another 10 year old girl came to the pool and was doing back flips off the side. She swam perfectly. My Lil was about to make an attempt at the dive when I insisted she didn't. But cannon balls were allowed. And she did great ones.

I had a friend in high school named Nius. He and I were total trouble. We stayed friends after h.s. I was even with him when he met his wife. But when they came to visit me in Chicago (before they got married) she gave her number to my boyfriend's friend. I told Nius. And he got mad at me.

Three years later I was in Vegas and I bumped into him. He was kind of a dick. I was cordial. And told him I couldn't get together because I had plans and went on my way.

Well... he emailed me Saturday. Like no bad blood ever existed. So strange. I think the dude is totally bi-polar.

Nius is the one that got me into the wine business. He gave my resume to his company and that is how I got my start.

Do we owe our childhood friends another shot?

Do I even bother?

We shall see...