M@DISON R@E...
Happy Birthday America!!
(2006-07-05, 12:51 p.m.)
I had an AWESOME 4th of July. I love the OC! Yes, yes. I know I said I hated it the other day but I only hate "the scene" aka Newport.

Huntington I LOVE.

Let me walk you through it.

Yesterday I woke up early and loaded up my basket on my bike cruiser with 8 bottles of wine and headed over to my friend Mayor's house. Yes, he was once the mayor and still thinks he is. He lives on the parade route and throws a big party every year.

I sat on the bleachers he sets up soaking in the sun, eating awesome BBQ and watching the floats go by. You know HB's parade is the largest west of the Mississippi. I sat behind the "Thank You" Lady again this year. She is the one who screams THANK YOU when the vets and soldier's march by. She's so funny.

I met some cool people. A talkative lady who lived in the same places I have (Jersey and Chicago). And I met a nice goofy guy that asked if I would go on a bike ride with him next weekend. Why not? I wasn't initially attracted to him but he did make me laugh.

It was good wholesome fun. The young and the old enjoying a parade. Unlike the house across the street with 400 plus people in the yard. YIKES. We thought about crashing it but then a newspaper photographer came by and took a bunch of photos of us. So much fun.

I came home around 2 pm and took a nap, and a shower, and headed down to San Clemente for more fun.

Linz had her family, her boyfriend and some of our girlfriends over. It was the first time I hung out with her family. They were so much FUN. The grown men (Her father, Uncle, and their friend) lit fireworks in the street while us ladies ate and drank (not me, I was driving).

We headed down to the beach for fireworks. Her brothers had staked out a huge spot for us. We were so obnoxious. Throwing out jokes left and right. Her Uncle would go to the front of everyone with his hood up, light the illegal fireworks then run down the beach so he wouldn't get caught.

I told him he looked like he mugged an old lady running like that! Silly grown men.

I drove home last night smiling. The whole day was fun, fun, fun. I'm very lucky to know such good people that welcome me into their homes and families.

My only complaint is with myself since I didn't apply sunscreen until it was too late. My shoulders are a bit burnt. And I have that silly tank top tan line. Oh the problems I have.

My VP who said he would help me, but hasn't on my work matters is coming on Friday. Oh joy. Now I have to whip up a presentation, make appointments, and run around like crazy when already crazy.

Oh well... I'm not going to get all upset over this stupid man and this stupid company.

There will be other jobs.

It's easy to have such a healthy outlook when you love life.