M@DISON R@E...
All about my Lil...
(2005-12-27, 9:22 p.m.)
Oh My God!! I am so friggin stoked.

I met my my Lil Sis. For those of you just tuning in, I signed up to be a Big Sister for the Big Bros Big Sis program back in July. It took a while to go through the interview process. But they took me. And matched me. With the prettiest little girl ever.

I was so nervous to meet her and her mom tonight. I sat in the waiting room and it felt like 115 degrees. What was I going to say to a 9 year old to win her over? And will her mom like me?

When my "Lil" walked in my heart melted. She has the cutest smile.

Her mom and I talked with the case worker. Seems Lil has 4 sisters and 1 brother (and her mom is 34!! Holy Crap.). Two of the sisters are in the program too.

After the mom and I discussed goals and such they left me alone with Lil. She was so easy to talk to. She loves the beach (Me too!). She hates to bowl (Me too!). She likes to play frisbee (Me too!).

I asked her what her favorite color was and she responded, "Red, Orange, Blue, Purple... Green, Black." I stopped her and said, "What colors don't you like?" She said brown. "But you have a brown coat on!" Her, "Yeah, I guess I like brown too!"

The best was when we walked out to the car I was talking to her mom. Her mom has braces too but the silver kind. Lil said to me, "I like the color of your braces. They are yellow!!" Ha! Me, "Well... they are supposed to be clear but you are right. They are yellow!"

Our first outing is Saturday. We are going to the beach to collect sea shells. Seems she had a bunch but they are missing. Things go missing when you have so many sisters!

I'm so happy right now. And so glad I'm doing this.

Yeah!

This was one of my new year's resolutions. The most rewarding ever I think.