M@DISON R@E...
The service
(2006-04-17, 11:08 a.m.)
Went to Tbor's funeral on Saturday.

I feel incredibly lucky to have known him. Like I mentioned he was an actor. He started his own theatre in the Valley. He also enjoyed horseback riding in the sticks.

During our days we worked together he told me all about his passions. And his family. And he taught me a ton about wine.

At his funeral the people who spoke also talked about these things.

After the service I was standing in the parking lot with Tbor's coworkers. Hardly any of them knew he was an actor. These guys saw him every week but never really knew him at all.

One rep came over to me and said it was because of me he got to know Tbor at all. That because I sent them to a seminar together they became close. And because of my wines many of his coworkers got to know him. He loved my wines. And he loved talking about them. So whenever I came into the meetings we would taste and Tbor would describe the wine in such detail.

At the end of the service they played a video clip of one of Tbor's plays. He was singing a song about being a passenger in life. That all we can do is the best that we can. It was so nice to hear his voice one last time.

I know it's so cliche to say he was one of the good one's. But really. He was.

I have a huge whole in my heart right now.

But like I said before... I feel incredibley lucky. I have an opportunity in my job to really get to know people. I always ask questions and am genuinely interested in the way they live. I just have to remember to never take for granted the relationships I have in my life, personal or work. I learn from these people. They make me better. Tbor made me better.

Tbor made everyone better.

His boss spoke at the service at the request of Tbor's family. He told a story about how he had brought a bottle of wine to a Friday meeting. He asked the team if it was too early to taste. It was only 9am. Tbor chimed in and said in his deep hungarian accent, "If the meeting starts at 9 am, then it is time." End of discussion. Ha!

I wish I could talk about wine like he did. He had a way with our language. He had a way with people.

I miss him so much.